remote access to SciFinder Tuesday, 16 June 2009 4:47 pmPosted by Dongmei in chemistry, databases.
Tags: remote access, SciFinder web version
Last week one chem professor told me that he had trouble accessing the new SciFinder Web version remotely, and he indicated that this was not just him, a few others had the same problem. I thought I would go through the authentication process again, hoping that this will clear things up.
After you register for your username and password via SciFinder Registration, if you’re at home (or somewhere remotely), don’t just go to http://scifinder.cas.org, that will not work. You have to go to the link on the Library’s Database Page http://library.cofc.edu/search_collection/databases.php (and click on S) or go to the Chemistry LibGuide http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/chemistry (click on the tab: Find Articles), either way it will take you to this link SciFinder Web Version (http://nuncio.cofc.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder). Alternatively, you can bookmark this link too.
What this link does is it will take you through the EZProxy Server, which authenticate you as a CofC affiliate (it will ask for your Cougar domain account, basically your cofc email before the @ sign, same password). After that, you use the SciFinder username and password that you registered to log into SciFinder.
It’s what I call a double authentication process, hopefully, ACS will eventually drop the username authentication, just use the EZProxy authentication like everybody else is doing.
Hopefully this clear things up for you all. If you still have trouble access it remotely, don’t hesitate to contact me (email remains the best way to contact me, or poke me in Facebook).
Using Internet Explorer 8 with SciFinder Tuesday, 31 March 2009 10:29 amPosted by Dongmei in chemistry, databases.
1 comment so far
On March 19, 2009, a new version of Microsoft Internet Explorer, Internet Explorer 8, was released. Internet Explorer 8 is currently incompatible with SciFinder; however, researchers can use a built-in compatibility setting that allows you to view SciFinder as displayed in Internet Explorer 7.
The Compatibility View Setting allows Internet Explorer 8 users to maintain a list of sites that can be displayed in Compatibility View. There are also options for viewing all websites and intranet sites in Compatibility View. To learn more about how to use the feature, visit the CAS web page titled Using Internet Explorer 8 with SciFinder.
Please note:If you print detailed reference answers when using Compatibility View, some content will be missing. You can export your answer as a PDF or .rtf file and then print the exported files.”
CAS is working on a permanent solution to use SciFinder with Internet Explorer 8.
SciFinder Web version Thursday, 29 January 2009 8:26 pmPosted by Dongmei in chemistry, databases.
Tags: chemistry, databases, SciFinder_Web_version
It’s finally here at College of Charleston, are you excited? From now on you don’t need to install the client software any more.
Here’s what you need to do:
1. Register for a user name and password using SciFinder Registration first before you use this new Web version!
Note: Use the following link to find out How to Register to Use SciFinder: http://library.cofc.edu/scholar/HowToRegisterToUseSciFinder.pdf.
Only people with CofC email can create a user name and password.
2. SciFinder Web Version (use the user name and password that you registered to log in)
The client version will cease to work on Apr. 17, 2009. So try out the Web version now.
(The links are on the library databases page underneath the old SciFinder Scholar (library only) link. It’s also on the Chem Libguide)
Besides all the features that you love in the client version, CAS promises that the Web version has more features you will become to love and is easy to use.
CHEMnetBASE trial Thursday, 29 January 2009 7:50 pmPosted by Dongmei in chemistry, databases.
Tags: chemistry, CHEMnetBase, databases, reference, trial
add a comment
We have this chemistry reference database on trial right now. It includes the following chemistry resources:
- Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD)
- Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds (also included in CCD)
- Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource; also included in CCD)
- Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds (also included in CCD)
- Dictionary of Natural Products (also included in CCD)
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds (also included in CCD)
- The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (NEW EDITION!)
- Polymers: A Property Database
- Properties of Organic Compounds
- Dictionary of Marine Natural Products (NEW!)
- Dictionary of Food Compounds (NEW!)
- Dictionary of Carbohydrates
If you’d like to try this online resource out, go to our trial databases (demos) page (http://library.cofc.edu/search_collection/demo.php) to get the user name and password for the trial. The trial ends February 11, 2009.
How to make your reaction search more effective in SciFinder Scholar Tuesday, 4 December 2007 4:26 pmPosted by Dongmei in chemistry, database features, databases, search tips.
add a comment
SciFinder provides access to the largest reaction database in the world (CASREACT) with coverage from 1840 to the present. It contains more than 14 million single- and multi-step reactions, about 950 added weekly from patents and journals.
This tip sheet from CAS shows you how to search reactions effectively using some unique tools provided by SciFinder, to be more specific: Functional Groups and Filters. If use effectively, these tools will increase the precision of your queries.